It is our mission to advocate for medical cannabis patients and to assist prospective applicants in navigating the registration process in their respective states. We offer our services to residents of multiple states applying for medical marijuana programs, including Missouri.
Arkansas has authorized the use of telemedicine to certify patients for medical marijuana cards. At the Sanctuary, our staff members are available to schedule a virtual appointment for you with one of our doctors. You do not need to have a prior doctor's evaluation to meet with our licensed physicians.
During your appointment, your doctor will evaluate your condition and determine if you meet the state’s requirements for medical marijuana use. If your physician believes you would benefit from marijuana use, they will submit a certificate to the Pennsylvania DHSS as soon as possible. Once your information is in the system, you can continue the application process on the DHSS website.
Simply call us at 484-346-5140 to arrange a virtual meeting with a physician.
"When I needed my medical marijuana certification, I turned to the Sanctuary. They made the entire process so easy and I was able to submit my registration to the DOH with no problem and, most importantly, no judgment. Thank you!"
"Dr. Raymond was kind and well informed and I felt like he was really advocating for me. I will definitely recommend him and Sanctuary Wellness to others.* "
How It Works
First, patients must undergo an evaluation by a licensed Missouri physician. If that physician decides that they will benefit from medical marijuana treatment, they will fill out a Physician Certification Form confirming the patient’s eligibility for it.
That electronic form will then be sent directly to the DHSS. If the patient is seeking the standard four doses per month, they’ll only need one Physician Certification Form. But if the physician recommends a higher dosage, the patient will need two Physician Certification Forms completed by different physicians.
If the patient receiving medical marijuana is under 18 years old, a Parent/Legal Guardian Consent Form will also need to be completed. In addition, patients who plan to rely on a qualified caregiver to pick up their marijuana for them must complete a Patient Authorization Form.
This registration and application process must be completed within 30 days of obtaining the physician's certification.
Once the physician submits all of the requisite forms, the patient will need to register online through Missouri's DHSS portal. They must select the correct registration (patient/caregiver) before proceeding. Their electronic Physician Certification Form will already be linked to their new account.
Once the patient or their caregiver is registered, they’ll need to fill out an application through the online portal. The DHSS will then process it within 30 days. Note that Missouri does not accept paper or in-person applications.
The applicant is not required to provide DHSS with any medical records or medical history to get a card. However, their certifying medical marijuana doctor may require some.
The Physician Certification Form the physician submits on the patient’s behalf must include their demographic information, their qualifying medical condition, the physician's attestation, the physician's signature, and the date.
Missouri law stipulates that qualifying patients can only consume medical marijuana in private places where they do not expect to be viewed by the public. The state considers schools, businesses, sidewalks, parks, and any other property open to the general population to be public places.
Businesses and landlords can enact policies forbidding marijuana consumption on their property. Review the terms of your lease agreement before consuming marijuana in your apartment or rented home.
Medical marijuana patients are fully subject to all Missouri DUI laws. You cannot legally operate a motor vehicle, aircraft, or motorboat while under the influence of marijuana. Possession of a medical card cannot be used in DUI defense.
A first-time DUI is a Class B misdemeanor leading to a 30-day mandatory license suspension. First-offenses may also be punished with up to 6 months in prison or completion of a substance abuse traffic offender program. Subsequent DUI convictions carry increasing minimum penalties.
There is no minimum age required to obtain medical marijuana in Missouri. However, patients under 18 must have a parent or legal guardian register as their caregiver. Missouri will only grant medical marijuana cards to state residents.
Missouri residents or their primary caregivers must also provide a copy of a photo ID or other ID card, like a driver's license. Finally, Missouri patients and caregivers need to provide up-to-date proof of residency as well.
Any Medical Doctor (MD) or Doctor of Osteopathy (DO) who’s in good standing and licensed in the state of Missouri can complete patients’ certification. Physicians who meet that criteria are allowed to prescribe medical marijuana.
Still, the physician must be registered with DHSS in order to submit the mandatory forms.
Missouri providers are not obligated to certify potential medical marijuana patients. If a patient’s physician denies them access to medical marijuana, though, they can ask for a referral to another doctor who might reach a different conclusion.
As of August 2022, there are over 150 licensed medical cannabis dispensaries in Missouri. The only marijuana you can legally purchase and possess is what you purchase from a dispensary. The Department of Health and Senior Services maintains a list of all locations throughout the state.
Many dispensaries allow you to place orders online and pick them up in-store. You can also have medical marijuana delivered. Dispensaries include:
For patients and caregivers, the total cost of obtaining a medical marijuana card is $25.94. Keep in mind that physicians will charge extra for consultations.
A caregiver is anyone who’s at least 21 years old who manages the care of a minor or minors seeking medical marijuana. The patient and their caregiver must each register with the state to obtain a card. Caregivers can purchase and possess marijuana on behalf of the patients for whom they care.
One patient can only have up to two caregivers, and a caregiver may only serve a maximum of three qualified patients.
No. Health insurance providers don’t currently cover the medical marijuana certification process. Despite Missouri state law, medical marijuana remains federally illegal.
Missouri medical marijuana cards are valid for one year. Their owners must complete an application to renew them each year and pay the application fees before they expire.
Missouri residents can start the renewal process within 60 days of their cards’ expiration dates.
Missouri began selling medicinal marijuana in 2020. Patients with debilitating, chronic, or terminal conditions can use it to ease pain and elevate their quality of life.
Registration permits patients to purchase the equivalent of four ounces of marijuana every 30 days. The patient completes that process online, and it requires an electronic certification from a licensed physician.
Both patients and caregivers can legally purchase and possess marijuana from any licensed dispensary.