"When I needed my medical marijuana certification, I turned to the Sanctuary. They made the entire process so easy and I was able to submit my registration to the DOH with no problem and, most importantly, no judgment. Thank you!"
"Dr. Raymond was kind and well informed and I felt like he was really advocating for me. I will definitely recommend him and Sanctuary Wellness to others.* "
In comparison to other states, Michigan's medical marijuana possession and consumption laws are relatively lax. Registered patients in Michigan are permitted to possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana and grow up to 12 marijuana plants (six of which can be flowering at any given time). In addition, patients are permitted to possess infused products such as edibles, concentrates, and oils.
It is still illegal to smoke marijuana in public Michigan, and patients are not permitted to drive while under the influence of marijuana. If drivers are found to have traces of THC in their system, even if they are not impaired, Michigan has a "zero tolerance" policy.
To be a registered medical marijuana user in the state of Michigan, you must be at least 18 years old and a Michigan resident. You must also have a medical condition that is listed on the state's website as a qualifying condition.
You can apply for a Michigan medical marijuana card if you meet all of the state's requirement, and the procedure is straightforward. While you can apply for your medical marijuana card on paper, you can also do so online without having to visit the state's marijuana regulatory agency.
You can appoint a designated caregiver to apply for a registry card on your behalf if you are under the age of 18 or unable to do so yourself.
If you live in Michigan and want to apply for a medical marijuana card, follow the instructions below.
You will be able to purchase medical marijuana from any licensed dispensary in the state once you have been approved for a card. There are plenty of dispensaries in Michigan, so you should have no trouble finding one that suits your needs.
Public consumption of marijuana is prohibited throughout the state, even if you have a medical marijuana card. You can only legally consume cannabis in your residence or as a guest in another private space. Despite the state’s legalization of adult-use medical marijuana, smoking, vaping, and consuming edibles are all prohibited in public.
You cannot legally have more than 2.5 ounces of marijuana outside of your home. Possession in a park or within 1,000 feet of areas with children is considered a felony or a misdemeanor at the presiding judge’s determination. Offenses are punished with a fine of up to $2,000 and up to two years in prison.
Michigan has a zero-tolerance policy for cannabis use while operating a motor vehicle, aircraft, snowmobile, off-road recreational vehicle, or motorboat. Passengers cannot smoke cannabis while a vehicle is in motion.
A first-time DUI offense is punished with up to 360 hours of community service, 93 days in jail, a $300 fine, and a license suspension. The minimum penalties rise with each subsequent violation.
Medical marijuana is available in Michigan for a variety of medical conditions. It's crucial to talk to your doctor about your symptoms because some chronic ones that don't respond to medical treatment may qualify you for Michigan's medical marijuana program.
Some such conditions include:
If you live in Michigan and want to become a medical marijuana patient, you'll need to find a doctor who can recommend medical cannabis for you. There are several options for finding a doctor who can assist you:
-Look for a doctor online: There are several online directories that can assist you in finding a doctor who can recommend medical marijuana. A simple search for "Michigan medical marijuana doctors" will yield a number of results that can help you track down someone in your area.
-Ask friends and family: If you know someone who is currently a patient, inquire about their physician. They may be able to refer you to someone they know and trust who is knowledgeable about medical marijuana.
-Contact your local dispensary for a list of doctors that they recommend. This can be an excellent way to locate someone who is knowledgeable about the medical marijuana application process and can help you navigate it.
It's critical to schedule an appointment with a doctor who you believe will be a good fit. Ask any questions you may have about medical marijuana and the process of becoming a patient during your visit. The doctor will then decide whether or not you qualify for a recommendation. If you qualify, they will provide you with the necessary paperwork to apply for an MMJ card.
Michigan has two types of medical marijuana dispensaries: provisioning centers, where qualified patients go to purchase medical marijuana products, and safety compliance facilities, which test and track those products to ensure they meet state standards.
Most provisioning centers will have both medical and adult-use products available, while safety compliance facilities will only sell medical marijuana.
Some of the most popular medical marijuana locations include:
Card-holding patients may legally possess 2.5 ounces of medical marijuana from a licensed dispensary. Growing marijuana is permissible, but only if approved to do so.
To apply for an adult-use medical marijuana card in Michigan, you must provide the Michigan Medical Marijuana Program with some basic information and forms (MMMP). Name, date of birth, address, and proof of Michigan residency are all required. A copy of your driver's license, state identification card, or another type of valid ID card, such as your voter registration, will also be required, as well as a recent passport-style photograph.
In order to apply for a medical cannabis card, patients may be asked to provide additional information about their medical history and/or specific medical records.
In addition, a written certification from a qualified medical marijuana physician is required. Finally, there will be an application fee to pay.
There are several medical marijuana qualifying conditions in Michigan. Cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, hepatitis C, Lou Gehrig's disease, chronic pain, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Alzheimer's disease, persistent muscle spasms, Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), cachexia, epilepsy symptoms, multiple sclerosis symptoms, Crohn's disease, and more are among them. Visit the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs' website to see the complete list of conditions.
Patients must see a physician who is certified to recommend medical marijuana in order to receive a Michigan medical marijuana card. This could be your regular doctor or a specialist who has been trained to prescribe medical marijuana. The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs maintains a list of certified physicians on its website.
In Michigan, medical marijuana cards are valid for two years from the date of their issuance.
Yes, as long as you are a Michigan resident, you can apply for a Michigan medical marijuana card even if you live in another state. A driver's license or state ID will still be required as proof of Michigan residency.
Medical marijuana dispensaries can be found all over Michigan. You should have access to an official dispensary whether you live in Lansing, Detroit, Ann Arbor, or elsewhere. You can use the Michigan Medical Marijuana Program's dispensary locator to find the closest dispensary. Patients who meet the state’s criteria can use the locator to look for dispensaries by zip code or city.
In Michigan, patients can consume medical cannabis at dispensaries, at home, and in other private settings. However, it is illegal to smoke medical marijuana in public places.