Medical Marijuana Card Tallahassee, FL
The Sanctuary Wellness Institute
The Sanctuary Wellness Institute is an advocate for medical marijuana patients in Florida. We assist our clients with every step of the Florida medical marijuana card application process.
Medical marijuana doctor evaluations are available throughThe Sanctuary. A certificate to use cannabis can be issued to you by a licensed Florida doctor after they have evaluated your qualifying condition(s). Additionally, the Sanctuary Wellness Institute provides online telehealth card renewals.
No prior evaluation is required to meet with one of our certified physicians. Call us today at (850) 378-3812 to schedule your appointment.
|Why Choose Sanctuary Wellness Institute||Other Florida providers|
|Full refund if not approved||No|
|Knowledgeable and helpful phone support||No|
|No transfer fee||No|
|No flower request fee||No|
|No extra paperwork fee||No|
|No exemption request fee||No|
|Renewals every 7 months||No|
|No hidden fees at all||No|
Medical Marijuana Doctors Tallahassee, FL
Florida legalized medical marijuana in 2014 and expanded its availability in 2016. Thanks to that legislation, thousands of people living in Tallahassee now have access to cannabis for the all-natural treatment of certain medical conditions.
Before you can purchase medical marijuana in Tallahassee, you must first obtain a card from the Florida Department of Health. It's normal to have concerns about how to go about getting one, since the process can be complicated.
We will go over how to get your card and answer some frequently asked questions to help guide you through this new healthcare journey.
Who Is Eligible for a Medical Marijuana Card in Florida?
Three elements determine Florida residents' eligibility for medical marijuana:
- The minimum age for patients is 18. Patients under the age of 18 may apply with the help of caregivers, who must be at least 21 years old.
- You must have a qualifying condition determined by a licensed medical marijuana physician.
- You must be a Florida resident, either permanently or temporarily.
Love From Customers
Read reviews from our recent customers on Google.
Based on 43 reviews
"great experience. Dr. Mcallister was so easy to talk to and understood my medical concerns. he made the process easy and i felt comfortable..."
"This is my 3rd time using The Sanctuary Wellness. This time was again for renewal of my MMJ card. I quickly got an appointment, the Dr calle..."
"Sanctuary Wellness Center is amazing. Convenient, helpful, and easy to use. I will go through them every year to renew my medical card."
How to Renew Your Florida Medical Marijuana Card
Medical marijuana cards in Florida expire one year after they are issued. Patients can renew their cards up to 45 days before they expire. If you do not do this, the state will mark the card as delinquent and you will be unable to use it. Your card can be renewed online or by mail.
According to state law, Florida patients must also see a medical marijuana doctor every seven months or 210 days for a recertification appointment. These consultations can be in person or online.
Follow these steps to renew your Florida medical marijuana card:
- 1. Schedule a recertification appointment with one of the Sanctuary’s medical marijuana doctors
- 2. Submit a renewal application through the MMUR online portal or by mail
- 3. Pay the state’s $75 renewal fee
Typically, the OMMU reviews online applications within 10 business days of receiving them.
Medical Marijuana Approval Process in Tallahassee, FL
Obtain Your Medical Records from a Primary Care Physician
You'll need a diagnosis from your primary care doctor before you can start medical cannabis treatment.
Schedule an Appointment with a Medical Marijuana Doctor
The Sanctuary can connect you with a Florida medical marijuana doctor and schedule a consultation. Your licensed physician will enter your information into the Florida Department of Medical Marijuana Use Registry and issue you a medical marijuana recommendation if you satisfy the state’s requirements for one.
Complete the Application
You will receive an email with directions for accessing the patient portal after your doctor has added you to the state’s registry. There, you can complete an MMJ card application and pay the $75 fee.
In Florida, the OMMU is in charge of MMJ card distribution. Only Florida residents who meet the state's requirements are eligible to apply for a Florida medical marijuana card.
Applicants under the age of 18 must designate an adult caregiver in their application and MMUR. Only caregivers are allowed to purchase medical marijuana products for minor patients.
Call (850) 378-3812 to arrange your evaluation and ask any questions you may have.
Florida QUALIFYING CONDITIONS
In order to be eligible to receive an official Florida medical marijuana card, you must be diagnosed with one of the following qualifying conditions:
- Chronic non-cancerous pain stemming from another qualifying condition (according to the Office of Medical Marijuana Use)
- Crohn's disease
- Multiple sclerosis
- Parkinson's disease
- Terminal illness identified by a medical professional other than your medical marijuana doctor
- Conditions "of the same severity/symptoms" (including depression, anxiety, fibromyalgia, endometriosis, and PMS)
Medical marijuana patients are only permitted to purchase and possess up to 2.5 ounces of smokable marijuana at a time. If your doctor believes you need more, he or she can submit a Request for Exception Form to the OMMU on your behalf.
Patients are not allowed to use medical marijuana in public, but the state makes an exception for non-smokable, low-THC products. Furthermore, patients, including caregivers, are not permitted to share their medical cannabis with anyone else.
Finally, obtaining a Florida MMJ card does not permit you to cultivate your own medical cannabis.
Call (850) 378-3812 to arrange your evaluation and ask any questions you may have.
How Do I Provide Florida Residency?
Florida medical marijuana card candidates must be residents of Florida, either full or part-time. For full-time residents, a valid Florida driver's license or state identification card is required. The state will not accept any other forms of residency documentation when a person applies for an MMJ card as a full-time resident.
If a full-time resident submits an online application, the registry will immediately check their driver's license or state ID with the DMV. If submitting a paper application, full-time residents must include a copy of their Florida state ID card or driver's license.
According to the law, a temporary resident is someone who:
- Has a minimum of 31 days a year of residence in Florida
- Returns at least once a year to their home state
- Is a citizen of the United States and registered to vote, but pays income taxes to another state
Temporary residents must provide copies of any two of the following documents:
- A deed, mortgage, statement of monthly mortgage payments, schedule of mortgage payments, or lease contract
- One residential address proof and a statement confirming the part-time resident's residency from a person the part-time resident shares housing with
- Hook-up order for electricity, cable, or water that is less than 60 days old
- Utility, cable, or water bill that is less than 60 days old
- Postage from a financial institution that is no older than 60 days
- Mail from a federal, state, county, or city government agency that's less than 60 days old
Florida Medical Marijuana Card FAQs
In Florida, there are three fees involved with obtaining a medical marijuana card:
1. Initial Medical Marijuana Doctor Consultation
For new patients, the initial consultation costs $199, but through The Sanctuary, these consultations only cost $129!
2. Application Charges
A new application will cost $75. Renewal applications cost $75 as well. A $2.75 convenience fee is applied to online payments.
3. Recertification Fees for Doctors
Every seven months, patients must receive certification from a medicinal marijuana doctor. Recertifying your card through the Sanctuary costs just $99!
Patients and caregivers must submit an application for a yearly renewal 45 days before their card expires. You have the option of submitting your application online or by mail.
According to the Florida Department of Health, patients must be re-certified by a medical marijuana doctor every 210 days, or seven months.
Medical marijuana use is only permitted on private, non-federal property that is hidden from view.
Medical marijuana is not allowed on or in:
- Public transportation
- Public places
- Place of employment (unless permitted by employer)
- State correctional facilities
- Federal property such as parks, museums, etc.
- Preschool, primary, or secondary school grounds
- School buses
New patients must visit a medical cannabis doctor in person to get approved for a Florida MMJ card, but the application process can be completed online and patients can schedule telehealth appointments to renew their medical marijuana cards.
No, only state-registered patients are authorized to enter Florida dispensaries and purchase medical marijuana products. Patients must present their state-issued MMJ cards upon arrival.
Yes, as long as your medical marijuana doctor determines that your anxiety merits medical cannabis treatment, you can get approved for an MMJ card for anxiety in Florida.
Directions to Our Tallahassee, FL Office
Follow E Brickyard Rd to US-90 W 3 min (2.0 mi) Head north on Mine Rd toward State Hwy 268 16 ft Turn right onto Co Hwy 268 292 ft Co Hwy 268 turns slightly right and becomes E Brickyard Rd 2.0 mi Follow I-10 E to US-27 S/N Monroe St in Tallahassee 17 min (10.8 mi) Turn left onto US-90 W 0.1 mi Use the right lane to merge onto I-10 E via the ramp to Lake City 6.6 mi Use the right 2 lanes to take exit 199 for US-27 S/Monroe St toward State Capitol 0.6 mi Use any lane to turn right onto US-27 S/N Monroe St Pass by Denny's (on the right in 0.6 mi) Destination will be on the left 3.5 mi
Head north on FL-363 N toward Lawhon Rd 6.6 mi At Wells Fargo Bank, continue onto S Monroe St Pass by Wendy's (on the right in 0.7 mi) Destination will be on the right 2.5 mi
Head west on 9th Ave E toward S Main St 190 ft Turn left at the 1st cross street onto US-27 S/S Main St Continue to follow US-27 S Pass by Denny's (on the right in 13.4 mi) Destination will be on the left 16.3 mi