Your Guide to New Mexico Medical Marijuana Dispensaries

Registering for a medical marijuana card allows you to purchase 15 ounces of high-quality marijuana or an equivalent amount of THC products per 90-day period. As a cardholder, you'll be able to visit any of the state's marijuana dispensaries.

New Mexico's medical cannabis program dates back to 2007. The state has a strict oversight network to ensure only safe and effective products are sold at dispensaries. Your purchases will be tax-free. Dispensaries have friendly staff who believe in the therapeutic power of cannabis. They can advise you on the best products to manage your condition.

Understanding the available products and general policies will help you choose the right dispensary, treat safely, and return to your optimal quality of life.

Schedule Your Appointment with A New Mexico Medical Marijuana Doctor

Call or text us: (484) 346-5140

Where Can You Buy New Mexico Medical Marijuana?

Cardholders and their caregivers can purchase adult-use medical cannabis products at any dispensary in New Mexico. You should always call ahead to verify the hours, policies, and inventory of any dispensary you plan to visit. There are over 100 licensed marijuana retailers throughout New Mexico, with some of the best including:

The Medical Cannabis Program (MCP) does not maintain a list of dispensaries for the public. When visiting a dispensary, be sure to ask if they are a licensed facility and sell medical cannabis. Unlicensed retailers may sell Delta-9 products. These are not medical grade and should not be used to manage health conditions.

What’s it Like Buying Medical Marijuana in New Mexico?

New Mexico dispensaries are reputable businesses staffed by knowledgeable employees who can educate qualified patients on cannabis, how to consume it, New Mexico’s marijuana laws, and the best strains for particular medical conditions.

According to NM state law, in order to purchase medical cannabis, you or your primary caregiver must present your medical marijuana card and a valid state-issued ID. While recreational sales are legal, your medical card allows you to purchase a greater amount of cannabis. Your purchase is also exempt from sales tax.

A staff member will check your medical cannabis card and ID, verifying you are eligible under the state's program. Your information will be logged into a tracking system to ensure your purchase falls under the 15-ounce per 90 days maximum. If you register for an online account with the state, you can track your 90-day purchase history.

Tips for Purchasing Medical Marijuana Products

You should always call a dispensary or check their website before visiting to confirm their hours, payment policy, and that they offer medical cannabis. If it's your first time purchasing medical cannabis, you should take a list of the prescription and over-the-counter medications you use.

The dispensary staff can advise you about potential interactions and types of cannabis to avoid. Workers will typically ask what you're looking for from cannabis treatment. They can guide you on which products can help ease anxiety, curb pain, stimulate appetite, or address other symptoms.

Through its cannabis dispensaries, the New Mexico Department of Health sells dried flowers, concentrates, edibles, tinctures, topicals, and CBD products to patients with qualifying conditions. You should keep a log of your dosing and response to cannabis. While responses are generally predictable, your tolerance, biochemistry, and medical condition will dictate cannabis' effects.

By starting with the lowest dose of products, you can track its impact and finely tune your dosing moving forward. Smoking cannabis will have the fastest-acting effect. Topicals and tinctures absorb slower and create prolonged symptom relief.

Need Help Applying for A New Mexico Medical Marijuana Card?

The Sanctuary can help you navigate the state of New Mexico’s application process and ensure your condition qualifies you for a card. We can also refer you to a medical marijuana doctor who will assess your needs and issue your certification so you can enroll in NM’s medical marijuana program as a new patient as soon as possible.

The MCP takes up to 30 days to process requests, making it critical that you submit a complete, legible, and accurate application. We have the expertise to guide you through the particulars of New Mexico's process and ensure your paper or electronic application is strong.