NM Medical Marijuana Card
The Sanctuary Wellness Institute
First Evaluation: $179 | Renewal: $169
Offering Online Evaluation Appointments. No Need to Leave Your Home!
Experts from various fields have long disagreed about the use of medical marijuana. Few issues foment more debate among legislators, academics, researchers, clinicians, and the general public.
But medical marijuana has been shown to help relieve symptoms of a variety of ailments when used in moderation and under the supervision of a clinician. Furthermore, many patients have testified to the numerous benefits of medical marijuana use. Even so, some Americans remain skeptical.
Medical marijuana card evaluations are available from a variety of clinicians in New Mexico. Here, we'll debunk some medical marijuana myths and show you how to find a dispensary in your area.
We'll also cover how to find medicinal marijuana doctors in New Mexico and answer some frequently asked questions.
CALL OR TEXT 484-346-5140 TO SCHEDULE
Love From Customers
Read reviews from our recent customers on Google.
Based on 363 reviews
"VERY CONSERNED DOCTORS WHO KNOW WHAT WE'RE GOING THROUGH. DR. MORGAN IS THE BEST! I'M ONE OF THE FIRST FOLKS WHO RECEIVED MY CARD IN THE BE..."
"HONESTLY, IT WAS ONE OF THE MOST INFORMATIVE VISITS I'VE EVER HAD. SHE EXPLAINED EVERYTHING AND GAVE ME SHEETS OF INFORMATION, WHICH IS SO..."
The Kabylie C.
"DR. MORGAN IS VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE AND AMAZING. I CAME IN FOR A RECERTIFICATION. I MOVED SO I NEEDED A NEW DR. SHE WENT ABOVE AND BEYOND..."
Marijuana Laws in New Mexico
New Mexico Public Consumption Laws
The cannabis laws in New Mexico prohibit police from detaining or stopping people based solely on the smell of marijuana. Public consumption is still prohibited, though. Cannabis use is only permitted in designated public spaces, on private property, and away from prying eyes. The use of cannabis on dispensaries' property is also permitted.
You are not permitted to use medical marijuana at work. Marijuana use is prohibited in private establishments and on private property. Cannabis use is also prohibited by federal law in federal buildings and national parks.
New Mexico Cannabis DUI Laws
Even if you have a medical marijuana card, it is illegal to drive while under the influence of marijuana. There is no THC cap set by law. The DWI law in New Mexico applies to violations. The penalty for a first offense is up to nine days in jail and a $500 fine.
Violators are required to participate in a driver rehabilitation program and perform at least 24 hours of community service. The minimum penalties for subsequent offenses increase up to license revocation and three years in prison.
What is Medical Marijuana?
Medical marijuana is a term that refers to the use of the cannabis plant to treat a variety of ailments. Cannabis has been used for medicinal purposes for centuries, but it wasn't until the late 1990s that scientists started looking into its therapeutic potential. Today, there is strong evidence that marijuana can be used to treat a variety of ailments, including cancer, chronic pain, AIDS/HIV, glaucoma, and multiple sclerosis.
Plants, tinctures, oils, concentrates, vapes, sprays, and edibles are all forms of medical marijuana.
Cardholders with qualifying medical conditions are allowed to possess up to 8 ounces of adult-use cannabis for medical purposes under the New Mexico Medical Marijuana Program. Patients can also grow up to 16 mature plants if they live in state-approved home cultivation areas and have personal production licenses.
Medical cannabis can be purchased from licensed dispensaries by registered patients.
New Mexico Medical Marijuana Program
To apply for a medical marijuana card in New Mexico through the state’s medical cannabis program, you will need to gather the following information:
- Your full name
- Your date of birth
- The address where you live
- A copy of your New Mexico driver's license or ID card
The application form is available on the New Mexico Department of Health's website.
You must submit the completed application form to the Department of Health once you have gathered all of the required information. , There is no fee for a new or renewal card in New Mexico.
You can appoint a designated primary caregiver to submit an application on your behalf if you are a minor or otherwise unable to do so.
You will receive your medical marijuana card in the mail once your application has been processed. In New Mexico, you will then be able to legally possess and use medical cannabis products.
Medical Marijuana in New Mexico
Medical marijuana is available in New Mexico for a variety of medical conditions. It's crucial to talk to your doctor about your symptoms because some chronic ones that don't respond to medical treatment may qualify you for New Mexico's medical marijuana program.
Call or text (484) 346-5140 with any questions and to schedule your evaluation!
New Mexico Qualifying Conditions
Some common qualifying conditions include:
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Cachexia and wasting syndrome
- Chronic pain and fibromyalgia
- Crohn’s Disease and Inflammatory Bowel Syndrome (IBS)
- Epilepsy and other seizure disorders
- Multiple sclerosis (MS)
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Sickle Cell Anemia
- Tourette’s Syndrome
How to Find a Medical Marijuana Doctor in New Mexico
If you live in New Mexico and want to get a medical marijuana card, you'll need to find a doctor who has been approved by the state to recommend marijuana. On the New Mexico Department of Health website, you can look up a list of registered physicians.
You'll need to make an appointment for an evaluation once you've found a doctor who is registered to recommend medical marijuana. The doctor will ask you questions about your medical history and current condition(s) during the evaluation. Bring any relevant medical records with you to the appointment.
If the doctor determines that medical marijuana would benefit your condition after the evaluation, they will fill out and sign a recommendation form. When you submit your application for an MMJ card, you'll include that form with the rest of your materials.
Where Can You Buy New Mexico Medical Marijuana?
Any New Mexico dispensary will sell adult-use medical cannabis products to cardholders and their caregivers. Any dispensary you intend to visit should be contacted in advance to confirm its policies, hours, and inventory. In New Mexico, there are more than 100 authorized marijuana retailers, some of the best of which include:
The Medical Cannabis Program (MCP) does not keep a public directory of dispensaries. Ask a dispensary if they are a licensed business and sell medical marijuana before you go. Products from Delta-9 may be sold by unlicensed merchants. Since they are not of a medically acceptable caliber, they should not be used to treat illnesses.
Frequently Asked Questions
The following information is required to apply for a medical marijuana card in New Mexico:
- Your name and birth date
- Your mailing address
- Your SS#
- A photocopy of your driver's license or state identification card
A written certification from your doctor, as well as any other medical records deemed relevant by the state, will be required. Finally, the application fee must be paid.
Some of the qualifying conditions for a New Mexico medical marijuana card include:
- Multiple sclerosis
- Seizures (including epilepsy)
- ALS (amyotrophic lateral sclerosis)
- Crohn's disease
- PTSD (post-traumatic stress disorder)
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Severe Chronic Pain
A prospective patient must see a physician who is registered with the New Mexico Medical Marijuana Program in order to be certified for medical marijuana in the state of New Mexico. This means the doctor has received medical marijuana certification training and has access to the program's database of approved dispensaries.
After reviewing the patient's medical records, the physician will decide whether medical marijuana would be an effective treatment for the patient's condition. If the patient's physician certifies them, they will be able to register with the New Mexico Medical Cannabis Program and receive their medical cannabis card.
New Mexico medical marijuana cards are valid for one year and must be renewed after that period has ended.
If you live in another state, you can apply for a New Mexico MMJ card. You will, however, need to show proof of residency in New Mexico.
Dispensaries can be found all over the state of New Mexico. Albuquerque, Santa Fe, and Las Cruces are among the larger cities with dispensaries. Dispensaries can also be found in smaller towns and rural areas. The website nmdispensaries.com has a comprehensive list of dispensaries in New Mexico.
You can use medical marijuana in authorized dispensaries if you are a medical marijuana patient in New Mexico. There are a few places where you can consume it on the spot. "Cannabis consumption clubs" are what they're called. To enter these clubs, you must have a valid medical marijuana card.
Finally, medical cannabis products can be consumed in the privacy of your own home.