Nevada Medical Marijuana Law

Nevada is one of several U.S. states with an operational medical marijuana program and adult-use marijuana sales. Advocates continue championing the cause of cannabis to expand access and improve patients' quality of life. Lawmakers have revised the state’s medical marijuana program to reflect medical marijuana's improving reputation and preserve patients’ rights.

Nevadans with qualifying medical conditions can join the state’s medical marijuana registry, enabling them to purchase cannabis from licensed dispensaries and enjoy broader rights and privileges than residents only using cannabis for recreational use.

This article covers the history of Nevada marijuana legislation, relevant laws, and the medical marijuana card application process. If you suffer from the symptoms of a chronic medical condition, medical cannabis could transform your life.

Learning about the state of Nevada’s program and the differences between its laws regarding marijuana for medical use and those regarding recreational cannabis will enable you to obtain the products that are best for you without breaking any state laws.

Schedule Your Appointment with A Nevada Medical Marijuana Doctor

Call or text us: (484) 346-5140

Nevada Medical Marijuana Law History

Nevada voters legalized medical marijuana via a ballot measure that amended the state constitution in 2000. Despite the will of the people, legislative progress stalled over the next 14 years as lawmakers debated how a medical program would operate. This delay prevented Nevadans from legally purchasing safe and regulated medical marijuana products.

The state finally enacted SB 374 in 2014. This cannabis law established an overseeing body and the framework for dispensaries and cultivators. Progress accelerated, and the first legal sale of medical marijuana took place in July 2015.

Nevada began accepting online applications for medical marijuana cards in 2016. The state has made subsequent updates to the program, such as preventing employers from rejecting candidates over positive marijuana tests. Lawmakers started allowing home delivery of medical marijuana and telehealth visits in 2020 to protect patients during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Voters passed the Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act, legalizing adult-use marijuana in November 2016. The state then established the Cannabis Compliance Board in 2020, which took over the administration of the medical program.

In response to recreational marijuana legislation, Nevada waived sales tax on medical cannabis products and established expanded cultivation and possession limits to protect patients' ability to manage their symptoms with cannabis.

Marijuana Possession Laws in Nevada

Under Nevada marijuana law, medical marijuana cardholders can possess up to two and a half ounces of marijuana or the equivalent in edibles. Patients must obtain the products from state-licensed dispensaries. Patients can also cultivate up to 12 mature plants if they reside more than 25 miles from a dispensary or their physician recommends a strain that is not readily available.

Adults over 21 can possess up to one ounce of cannabis and one-eighth ounces of cannabis concentrate. Home cultivation of recreational marijuana is limited to six marijuana plants per person if they do not have access to a medical marijuana dispensary.

Nevada Public Consumption Laws

Nevadans cannot consume cannabis in public places or in a moving vehicle. There are no exceptions for medical marijuana patients. Cannabis use should occur in one's home or other private property with permission from the owner.

Nevada passed a law in late 2022 allowing public consumption lounges to operate. The first of these regulated facilities is expected to open during the Summer of 2023.

Nevada Cannabis DUI Laws

It is illegal to drive under the influence of cannabis in Nevada, regardless of whether you have an MMJ card. More than 5 ng/ml of marijuana metabolites in the blood is a minimum misdemeanor offense, even if the driver does not appear to be under the influence of marijuana in front of law enforcement.

First offenses are punished with mandatory completion of a substance use course, up to six months imprisonment or 96 hours of community service, and up to a $1,000 fine. Subsequent offenses are subject to increasing penalties, including up to six years imprisonment.

Applying for A Nevada Medical Marijuana Card?

The first step to applying for a Nevada medical marijuana card is registering for an online account or downloading the paper application. You can then attend a consultation with a medical marijuana doctor who will issue an Attending Healthcare Provider Statement. This form certifies you to use medical marijuana and stipulates strains and forms of cannabis you can use.

You also need a signed and notarized acknowledgment form confirming your enrollment. Many doctor's offices have on-site notaries to help you complete the form. Once you have all the documents, you can upload them to the portal or mail them to the Division of Public and Behavioral Health, Medical Marijuana Registry, 4126 Technology Way, Suite 100, Carson City, NV 89706.

Doctors are not required to issue recommendations for medical marijuana. Applying for your MMJ identification card online is the fastest way to get approved and start purchasing cannabis. The Sanctuary Wellness Institute understands the Nevada application process and requirements. We can answer your questions about eligibility and refer you to an experienced medical marijuana doctor.

Once you have your physician statement, we will advise you about assembling the necessary documents and guide you through the online system. Ensuring your initial application is complete and accurate will get you the quickest possible approval.

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes. Anyone over 21 years old can purchase marijuana from Nevada marijuana establishments. While recreational weed is legal, becoming a medical marijuana patient is still worthwhile. If you intend to manage the symptoms of a qualifying condition, it is vital to discuss cannabis with a doctor to rule out contraindications and ensure the use of cannabis can help. Some of the qualifying conditions in Nevada include glaucoma, muscle spasms, and cachexia.

Cardholders can cultivate more plants than non-patients, possess more cannabis, and are exempt from marijuana use taxes. In addition, some dispensaries only serve patients. Medical marijuana products are available in a wider range of potencies than recreational products. This access ensures you can find the best product to manage your symptoms.

Nevadans can purchase flowers, concentrates, capsules, tinctures, edibles, topicals, suppositories, and transdermal patches. Cardholders can obtain the equivalent of two and a half ounces of cannabis per 14-day period.

The only permitted products are those purchased from a licensed marijuana dispensary.

You cannot possess more than two and a half ounces of marijuana or cannabis obtained from a private party or unlicensed dispensary.

As a cardholder, you can possess up to two and a half ounces of marijuana and 12 plants if you qualify for home cultivation.

Yes. Nevada dispensaries recognize valid medical marijuana cards from any state with an operational medical marijuana program. If you plan to visit Nevada, it is best to call ahead to verify dispensary inventory and policies. Crossing state lines with marijuana is illegal since cannabis is considered illegal under federal law.

A conviction for selling drugs or possessing drugs while in jail prevents you from obtaining a medical marijuana card in Nevada.