FAQs About New Jersey Medical Marijuana

Curious about New Jersey’s medical marijuana program? Don’t worry, the Sanctuary is here for you! Navigating a medical cannabis application can be daunting, but once you know the requirements, it’s a simple, straightforward process.

Here are answers to some of the most common questions we receive about applying for a medical marijuana card in the Garden State.

Is There A Fee to Apply for the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program?

New Jersey charges a $100 registration fee for adult patients and caregivers. Military veterans, senior citizens, or residents on certain state and federal assistance programs qualify for a reduced fee of $20.

It’s Difficult for Me to Travel, Can I Register a Caregiver?

If your condition prevents you from purchasing medical marijuana by yourself, you can register a designated caregiver who can visit a dispensary on your behalf. Your caregiver will need to undergo the same application process as a patient, and will need to undergo a background check, submit proof of New Jersey residency, and pay a $100 fee.

What Conditions Qualify for A New Jersey Medical Marijuana Card?

To apply for a medical cannabis card, you must have a qualifying condition on the state-approved list.

New Jersey has approved the following conditions for medical marijuana use:

What If I Don’t Have A Condition on the List?

The New Jersey Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act (CUMMA) includes a provision that allows you to file a petition to add a qualifying condition to the state-approved list. If you don’t have a condition on the above list, but have a condition that may benefit from medical marijuana treatment, you can submit a petition to the Commissioner of Health and Senior Services.

Can I Use Another State’s Cannabis Card to Buy Marijuana in New Jersey?

No, you must have a New Jersey medical marijuana card in order to purchase from a licensed dispensary in the state. These rules may change soon, as the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program reviews new legislation.

How Much Medical Marijuana Can I Buy At A Time?

Your physician will determine the amount of medical marijuana you need to treat for your condition over a 30-day period, and you can only purchase up to that amount each month.

The maximum amount you are allowed to purchase is 3 ounces every 30 days, unless you have a terminal illness. In that case, the state places no limit on how much medical cannabis you can buy.

Contact the Sanctuary Wellness Institute Today

Still curious about the New Jersey medical marijuana program? Want to connect with a licensed doctor who can evaluate your condition and issue you a certification for medical cannabis use? The Sanctuary Wellness Institute can help.

We offer evaluations with certified New Jersey physicians who can help you receive the treatment you need. Contact us today at (479) 319-2673to schedule your evaluation and learn more about the.