Minnesota Medical Marijuana Law
The only legal way to obtain and use cannabis in Minnesota is with a medical marijuana card. The state legislature is currently navigating gaps in recent legislation, but non-medical THC remains illegal.
While the Minnesota Department of Health enforces some of the nation's strictest marijuana policies, obtaining your card is still simple and worthwhile. If you suffer from one of the state-recognized qualifying medical conditions, which alters your quality of life, you can treat using many forms of cannabis.
The products available to patients are high-quality and well-regulated. The overseeing agencies ensure THC-infused products come from safely grown plants and contain therapeutically effective concentrations of THC.
Minnesota Medical Marijuana Law History
Advocates began campaigning for medical marijuana in the 1990s. As cannabis treatment spread nationwide and patients reported success, interest in the therapy grew. After multiple attempts, the Minnesota Medical Marijuana Act passed and was signed into law in 2014.
The initial legislation allowed very narrow forms of cannabis to treat cancer, severe epilepsy, HIV and AIDS, glaucoma, Tourette's syndrome, ALS, and Crohn's Disease. The state enacted a strict oversight structure for the cultivation, manufacture, and distribution of medical marijuana.
Sales began in June 2015, and patients with conditions such as chronic pain, intractable pain, severe vomiting, sleep apnea, Alzheimer’s disease, multiple sclerosis, severe wasting, muscle spasms, cachexia, HIV/AIDS, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), and terminal illnesses embraced the therapy. As knowledge about cannabis' effectiveness grew, the state expanded the list of qualifying conditions and added additional forms of cannabis to its selection.
In May 2021, the state legalized dried raw cannabis, allowing patients to smoke medical marijuana. In March 2022, the government added edibles with up to 10 mg of THC to the list of approved products.
The legalization of recreational marijuana has failed to pass multiple times. In July 2022, the legislature enacted a law regarding Delta-8 products. As a result, Delta-9 THC products derived from legally grown hemp are now quasi-legal. These products are not medical-grade and are not subject to oversight that ensures their safety and quality.
Marijuana Possession Laws in Minnesota
As a medical marijuana cardholder, you can possess up to a 30-day supply of non-inhalable cannabis or up to 2.5 ounces of medical cannabis flower per 14-day period. You can only possess medical cannabis products obtained from a licensed dispensary with your card.
While the state decriminalized small amounts of non-medical cannabis, possessing more than 42.5 grams of marijuana is a felony, punished with fines and imprisonment.
Minnesota Public Consumption Laws
Under Minnesota state law, you can consume marijuana on private property as a cardholder. Medical cannabis cannot be smoked anywhere tobacco smoking is illegal or where a child could inhale the smoke or vapor. In addition, you cannot possess or use medical cannabis:
- On the premise of any school, child care facility, or home daycare
- On a school bus or van
- Within a correctional facility
- On any federal property, including courthouses, federally subsidized housing, airports, and national parks
Landlords and other property owners have the right to prohibit the use of medical cannabis on their premises.
Minnesota Cannabis DUI Laws
Driving under the influence of marijuana is illegal in Minnesota. Minnesota law dictates that law enforcement are authorized to arrest individuals if they suspect the driver is impaired by narcotics. Cannabis cannot be smoked while driving a vehicle.
An initial drugged driving arrest is a misdemeanor offense punished with up to 90 days in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, and possible license suspension. The penalties increase with each subsequent offense.
Applying for a Minnesota Medical Marijuana Card?
You need an email address to apply for a Minnesota medical marijuana card because the process is online only. First, you must undergo an evaluation by a licensed Minnesota physician, physician's assistant, or nurse practitioner. They assess your suitability for medical marijuana and issue an electronic certification if you have a qualifying condition.
You then receive an email from the Office of Medical Cannabis (OMC) with a link to the online portal and application. Your certificate expires 90 days after it is issued. You must apply for the card within 60 days of receiving certification because approval may take up to 30 days.
Once you establish the online account, you can complete the application form, upload your government-issued ID, and pay the application fee.
The OMC does not refer patients to doctors. Healthcare providers are not required to issue medical marijuana certifications. The Sanctuary Wellness Institute can refer you to a skilled medical marijuana doctor who will assess your condition and educate you on the treatment value of cannabis.
A staff member can then guide you through the application process. We complete ongoing training to ensure our team understands the current rules and laws governing medical cannabis so we can help individuals maximize their chance of approval.
No. Recreational marijuana legislation has failed to pass through the state legislature multiple times. As of July 2022, the only way to legally purchase products containing THC is with a medical marijuana card.
Products marketed as Delta-8 and Delta-9 are unregulated and contain synthesized THC derived from hemp plants. They are not comparable to medical-grade products. You should not attempt to manage the symptoms of your medical condition with unregulated products..
Minnesotans can possess flowers, prerolls, vape cartridges, capsules, tinctures, topical gels and creams, water-soluble multi-particulates like granules and powders, orally dissolvable products like lozenges, and edibles.
You should always store your cannabis in its original packaging, which confirms it was obtained with your card.
Marijuana-infused beverages and edibles with more than 10 mg of THC per serving are illegal. In addition, cardholders or their caregivers cannot possess other patients' medical marijuana. You cannot cultivate or possess marijuana plants.
You can possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana flower for smoking or a 30-day supply of non-inhalable medical marijuana.
No. Minnesota's medical cannabis program is more restrictive than most other states. As a result, they do not accept out-of-state cards, nor do they have recreational marijuana sales.
Due to the federal cannabis prohibition, you cannot cross state lines with any marijuana. If you plan to visit Minnesota, do not bring your medical marijuana. You will be subject to all the state's possession limits and penalties.
Yes. You can apply for and obtain a patient medical marijuana card despite having a felony. You cannot serve as a designated caregiver for a patient if you have a felony or other drug conviction. Caregiver applications are subject to a background check.