"When I needed my medical marijuana certification, I turned to the Sanctuary. They made the entire process so easy and I was able to submit my registration to the DOH with no problem and, most importantly, no judgment. Thank you!"
"Dr. Raymond was kind and well informed and I felt like he was really advocating for me. I will definitely recommend him and Sanctuary Wellness to others.* "
In Rhode Island, possessing and consuming medical marijuana is legal if you have a valid medical marijuana card. There are several dispensaries in the state where you can buy medical marijuana. Growing your own medical marijuana is also legal, but you must adhere to all state regulations.
At any given time, you are not permitted to possess more than 2.5 ounces of marijuana. If you have more than that, you could face a year in prison and a fine of up to $500 if you are caught. You could face up to 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine if you are caught selling or distributing marijuana. If you have previous convictions, those penalties would be increased.
The application for a medical marijuana card in Rhode Island is straightforward. To begin, gather the required documentation, which includes proof of Rhode Island residency and a copy of your Rhode Island driver's license or identification card. You must also provide written certification from your doctor stating that you have one of the qualifying medical conditions listed by the state.
You must submit an application to the Rhode Island Department of Health once you have gathered all of the required documentation. You can appoint a designated caregiver to submit a patient application form on your behalf if you are a minor or otherwise unable to do so yourself.
Currently, you can legally consume cannabis anywhere that cigarette smoking is allowed. However, due to the federal prohibition, you cannot smoke in national parks, federally subsidized housing, or within any other federal property, like courthouses.
The recent legalization of recreational marijuana will likely lead to revisions of the public consumption laws. The current legislation permits localities to set their own regulations and penalties for the public use of cannabis. Check with your local government for policy updates.
Operating a vehicle while impaired by marijuana is considered DUI in Rhode Island. However, medical marijuana cardholders are not guilty of DUI solely based on having THC in their systems. Law enforcement is empowered to stop drivers if they suspect impairment.
Punishments for first offenses include a $500 fine, 20 to 60 hours of community service, imprisonment for up to one year, and a three to 18-month license suspension. Minimum penalties increase with each subsequent offense, including mandatory imprisonment for three-time offenders. It's best to plan travel before you consume cannabis.
Medical marijuana is available in Rhode Island for a variety of medical conditions. It's crucial to talk to your doctor about your symptoms because some chronic ones that don't respond to medical treatment may qualify you for Rhode Island's medical marijuana program.
Some such conditions include:
If you live in Rhode Island and have a qualifying medical condition, you may qualify for medical marijuana. Visit the RI Department of Health website and click on the "Find a Physician" link to find a doctor who can certify your eligibility. Then you can look for doctors who are licensed to certify patients for medical marijuana.
There are six medical marijuana dispensaries located throughout Rhode Island. Those participating in the state’s medical marijuana program can shop at all of them. These locations include:
Calling ahead to verify dispensary hours and policies will save you time by ensuring you're prepared for your dispensary visit before arriving. Dispensaries offer deals for new medical marijuana patients, as well as seasonal promotions and loyalty programs. Most cannabis dispensaries also provide curbside pickup and delivery.
While adult-use marijuana sales began on 12/1/2022, purchases are limited to one ounce and subject to a 10% cannabis tax in addition to the normal state and local sales taxes. Medical patients only pay sales tax and can select from a wider product line than recreational customers.
The state plans to issue up to 33 additional licenses for dispensaries, but the timeline is subject to change by the Cannabis Control Board.
Qualifying patients must submit some basic information and forms to the state of Rhode Island in order to apply for a medical cannabis card. Name, date of birth, address, and proof of residency are all required. A form of state identification, such as a driver's license, passport, or another type of identification card, such as a voter registration card, will also be required.
You must also submit a practitioner-written certification form confirming that you have a qualifying medical condition. Finally, you must submit a recent photograph and pay the application fee.
Some of the qualifying conditions for a Rhode Island medical marijuana card include: cancer, cachexia, Alzheimer’s Disease, chronic pain, glaucoma, positive status for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS), hepatitis C, wasting syndrome, symptoms characteristic of epilepsy, muscle spasms, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), severe nausea, Crohn's Disease, multiple sclerosis (MS), damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with intractable spasticity, epilepsy, or inflammatory bowel disease.
Qualified patients must be suffering from pain that is unresponsive to conventional treatment. If you believe you might be eligible for a medical marijuana card, talk to your doctor about getting your case evaluated.
You must see a physician certified by the state to recommend marijuana for medical use in order to qualify for a medical marijuana card in Rhode Island. These doctors are commonly referred to as "medical marijuana specialists." On the Rhode Island Department of Health website, you can find a list of certified physicians.
A medical marijuana card in Rhode Island is valid for one year after it is issued.
If you live in another state, you can apply for a medical marijuana card in Rhode Island. You must still prove that you live in Rhode Island. though. The procedure is straightforward, and more information is available on the Rhode Island Department of Health website.
In Rhode Island, dispensaries, also known as "compassion centers," can be found in Providence, Warwick, Portsmouth, Cranston, and Newport. A list of dispensaries can also be found on the Rhode Island Department of Health's website.
Patients in Rhode Island can use medical marijuana at designated marijuana dispensaries, at home, or on private property. MMJ cardholders are prohibited from using their medication in public.